Eczema sufferers know all too well the difficulties that wintertime can bring for their skin, including myself. I dread the winter for many reasons (little sunlight, few outdoor activities, cramped indoor spaces….I could go on), but the biggest reason for my bitterness towards the season is because of the constant, uncomfortable eczema flare-ups I get in between my fingers, on my wrists, and on my face whenever the temperature drops. 

Eczema can be caused by multiple factors, and can also be exacerbated if left untreated. “Eczema is a type of rash of the skin manifested with dry, scaly, itchy, red patches that can be the result of excessive dryness, allergic response to certain outside elements (weather, skincare products, harsh soaps, etc.), or a disrupted skin barrier,” board-certified dermatologist Nikhil Dhingra, MD, of Spring Street Dermatology in New York City, tells Verywell. “It’s a distinct entity from psoriasis, which is more prevalent in older patients and not related to allergies.”

Eczema is often easier to manage during the warmer months, since there’s more humidity and moisture in the air to prevent dryness. “At its most basic, eczema is inflammation in response to dryness; environmental humidity is at its lowest in the wintertime and, combined with cold air and wind, this leads to dryness of the skin,” Dhingra says. “Sufficient amounts of dryness can disrupt the skin’s barrier and lead to one specific type of eczema called asteatotic eczema.”

When treating eczema, you want to try and avoid anything that might overdry the skin, such as too many hot showers or harsh soaps. Dhingra advises limiting showers to once daily in lukewarm water for no more than five to ten minutes using a gentle, fragrance-free soap. It’s important to moisturize with a fragrance-free cream or ointment within five minutes of hopping out of the shower, and to avoid vigorously rubbing your skin dry.

After suffering from eczema on my hands, arms and face for many years, I’ve found multiple eczema products that I can’t go a winter without.

Bodewell Light Serum

I really love all the products from the Bodewell line, but their Light Serum is probably my favorite—it’s unlike most products formulated for eczema, which are heavy and emollient. This lightweight spray is like a gel that can be applied after you cleanse and before you add your heavier moisturizer. It contains Bodewell’s patented plant technology Bw24, as well as Vitamin B, to help soothe inflammation while lightly hydrating your face.

Gladskin Eczema Cream with Micreobalance

Gladskin is doing big things when it comes to eczema treatments. This thick, luxe-feeling cream can be used on the face and body. It’s intended to restore balance to the skin microbiome. Fun fact: those who suffer from eczema usually have an overgrowth of Staphylococcus aureus (Staph) bacteria on their skin—the more Staph, the worse the eczema. Gladskin works to add good bacteria back into the skin to basically overthrow the bad bacteria (staph) and restore skin back to health. I love this rich cream because it’s fragrance-free, steroid-free, and really helps to treat and prevent my facial eczema in the winter. 

Thryve Gut Health Program

More and more studies are coming out each year about the effect an imbalanced gut and microbiome has on the skin, especially when it comes to eczema-related skin conditions. If you’re someone who struggles with eczema frequently, you might want to look into trying a gut microbiome test. These tests are designed to help you figure out which types of bad bacteria are overtaking your gut microbiome, and which types of good bacteria your gut needs more of. When I took the Thryve Gut Health Program, it was able to identify that I suffered from an inflammatory skin condition just based on my stool test. I love this program because it will recommend specific strains of probiotics that you should start taking, and will send a customized formula directly to your doorstep. 

Another great option that I’ve tried is the BIOHM Health Gut Test, which tests your gut bacteria and will offer recommendations on how to optimize your digestive health. You can choose between written recommendations or speaking directly with a consultant about your results and next steps.  

Avène Skin Recovery Cream

If there was ever a holy grail facial cream for sensitive skin, the Avène Skin Recovery Cream would be it. This is the first cream I ever used after experiencing a severe perioral dermatitis (a form of eczema) outbreak all over my face during my senior year of college, and I always find myself going back to this godsend. While I’m truly obsessed with all Avène skincare products, the Skin Recovery Cream is formulated with very few ingredients and features their famous Avène Spring Water, known for soothing the most irritated skin. Even if you don’t suffer from eczema, but are dealing with sensitive skin on the daily, I recommend trying any products from the Avène skincare line.

Grandpa’s Thylox Acne Treatment Soap

I’ve experienced perioral dermatitis on and off for many years. Perioral dermatitis is a form of eczema that can develop on multiple parts of the face, including around the mouth and chin, the nose, and the eyes, and it can really affect your self-esteem if it flares up a lot. In the spring, I developed a small patch of perioral dermatitis right around my chin, and I tried everything to make it go away. My dermatologist wanted me to avoid steroid creams on the area if possible, and recommended I try this sulfur soap instead. After about a week of washing once a day with the Grandpa’s Thylox Acne Treatment Soap, which contains 3% sulfur, I was amazed by how quickly the small patch went away. I definitely recommend anyone with perioral dermatitis try this sulfur soap, but use with caution: cleansing with it more than once a day might further decrease your skin barrier, causing more inflammation and more dermatitis. When using, let it sit on your skin for a minute, then rinse off, and then apply an eczema-relief moisturizer right afterward. 

La Roche-Posay Lipikar Eczema Cream

You really can’t go wrong when it comes to treating sensitive skin with La Roche-Posay products. This eczema cream from the line is my go-to for a perfect post-hand washing moisturizer, and has really helped restore my deteriorating skin barrier after so much antibacterial soap this past year.