Irwin, 27, and his bandmates Luke Hemmings, Michael Clifford and Calum Hood, had just finished performing their hit song “Lover of Mine” when Irwin fell ill and was carried off stage by the crew, as reported by fans in attendance.

After the band exited the stage following Irwin, they did not return and the rest of the performance was canceled.

Thankfully, Irwin made a full recovery and has released a statement to fans explaining what happened, detailing he suffered a loss of vision and “stroke symptoms” after suffering an “intense” migraine caused by heat exhaustion and overheating.

Irwin also shared he was left “in tears” in the ambulance en route to the hospital, feeling he had let fans down.

In his statement on Twitter, Irwin wrote: “I suffered from an intense migraine brought on by exhaustion and overheating onstage which made me [lose] my vision and gave me symptoms of stroke in the left side of my body. So the decision was to end the show there and then.

“It’s always amazing to play a massive energetic show in every environment thrown at us. Unfortunately this time my body gave out due to heat exhaustion. I was in tears in the ambulance, because I feel I’ve let many people down. I’m looking after myself and getting rest now.

“I feel so loved and looked after by my brothers and team and all of you. this is the price a dehydrated drummer pays when he takes on Texas heat. All will be made right, ticketing wise, and rescheduling-wise. I love you. Thanks for the love. I’ll be back onstage ASAP! X”

Following the incident, 5SOS released a statement on their official Instagram account, explaining Irwin had experienced “physical symptoms” and was taken to a local hospital for tests and a medical review.

They also apologized and advised ticketholders who were in attendance at the show would receive a direct email with more information as soon as possible.

The band also canceled a concert in Rogers, Arkansas on Thursday, June 29 following medical advice. The rescheduled date is July 26, which will be the last stop on the North American leg of their “Take My Hand” tour.

In another Instagram Story post about the postponed show, Five Seconds of Summer said: “We are so sorry to cause inconvenience to your plans, but we promise for those of you who can still make it, we will put on the show of your lives. “In the meantime, please join us in giving Ash the privacy to rest up and get back to full fitness…lots of love, 5SOS.”

Despite the incident, 5 Seconds of Summer are showing no sign of stopping. After their North America tour, they will tour their home country Australia.

Their fifth studio album, Me, Myself & I, is slated for release on September 23.